Member Achievements – August 2013

August 5, 2013


Dan DiCaprio is a visiting artist at the Society for Contemporary Craft in Pittsburgh this month. He is teaching a workshop on Wood Rings & Wire Inlay.

Santa Fe’s Patina Gallery honors master craftsman Gary Griffin, SNAG’s Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient, with an exhibition of works, models and sketches from a career spanning four decades. Patina is thrilled to offer a selection of Griffin’s works to discriminating collectors. Through August 11.

Michelle Pajak-Reynolds is the first independent designer invited to showcase designs on the runway during the largest fashion show in Ohio — the  Pro Football Hall of Fame 50th Anniversary Enshrinement Festival Fashion Show on August 2nd.

Samantha Skelton is the 2013 Studio Apprentice at the Society for Contemporary Craft. Her work focuses on the interaction between artist, object, and viewer. As a maker and craftsperson, she has been inspired by the connection between people making and experiencing art. In addition to her role as Studio Apprentice, she also designs and makes organic, textural, contemporary wedding and fashion jewelry. 

Jennifer Trask’s Acanthus neckpiece, 2010, will become part of the Newark Museum’s permanent collection. The neckpiece is a seminal part of Trask’s Vestige series. The idea for the neckpiece was borne out of a nineteenth-century Italian frame that the artist used for Intrinsecus, a monumental, wall-mounted sculpture, specifically made for curator David McFadden’s 2010 exhibition Dead or Alive at the Museum of Arts and Design in New York.

RISD MFA graduates Leslie D Boyd, Manuela Jimenez, Kendra Pariseault, and Mallory Weston founded Non-Sequitur to document their process and conversations as well as to be “a voice for those re-negotiating, and re-naming what it means to work as a contemporary artist in a craft medium.”

Marianne Hunter’s  The Galaxies Whirl Necklace (at left) is included in Ornament magazine Volume 26 Number 4. Ben Dyer is the subject of the article “Poetry in Gold” in the same issue. Also, Kathleen Dustin, David Forlano, Celie Fago, and Maggie Maggio are part of “The Broken Telephone Project.”

The 13th annual Saul Bell Design Award Competition winners include John Lunn, First Place-Hollowware/Art Objects (at right), and Nena Potts, Second Place-Enamel.

One of Nanz Aalund’s students, Jose Lins, received First Place in the Emerging Jewelry Artist category of the Saul Bell Design Awards with a filigree bead necklace. Lins is age 19 and recently graduated high school.

The September issue of Art Jewelry Magazine features Tova Lund, Caitie Sellers, Judy Morgan, Ben Dyer, and Martha Seely in its “Gallery,” as well as “A Conversation with Linda Kindler Priest.” Richard Salley shares his favorite etch-resist technique. And Michael Rybicki’s Poured Grid is featured on “The Back Page.”


Related Articles

Scroll to Top