2018 Volunteer Recognition Award

The SNAG Board of Directors is pleased to announce that it has awarded the 2018 Volunteer Recognition Award to Anne Havel. Anne will be recognized at the Membership Meeting during the SNAG Portland, Oregon conference.

2018 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Sharon Church

SNAG is pleased to announce that the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Sharon Church. She will be given her award at the opening of SNAG’s 2018 MADE conference in Portland, Oregon on Thursday, May 24.

2017 Educational Endowment Scholarships

SNAG annually awards three student scholarships and three emerging/mid-career artist scholarships. These are our most highly competitive scholarship awards and are chosen by a jury. Congratulations to the 2017 Educational Endowment Scholarship recipients.

2017 SNAG Student Exhibition Awards

New this year, SNAG presented awards for the annual Student Exhibition. The exhibition was held during the SNAG conference in May in New Orleans. Congratulation to the awards winners.

2017 Volunteer Recognition Award

The Board of Directors is happy to announce the 2017 Volunteer Recognition Award recipient is Don Friedlich. Since 1987, Don’s continued vision and investment has strengthened the core functionality of SNAG.

2017 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Helen Shirk

SNAG is pleased to announce the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Helen Shirk. The SNAG conference will be dedicated to Shirk and she will receive her award during the opening remarks in New Orleans on May 24th.

2016 Educational Endowment Scholarships

Founded in 1992, this annual offering of juried, educational scholarships are our most highly competitive scholarship awards. See the 2016 recipients of the Educational Endowment Scholarships.

2016 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Gary Noffke

SNAG is pleased to announce the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Gary Noffke. Known for his versatility, technical prowess, and originality, Noffke is a blacksmith, coppersmith, silversmith, goldsmith, and toolmaker.

2016 Volunteer Recognition Award

The SNAG Board has awarded the 2016 Volunteer Recognition Award to Boris Bally. Started in 2015 by the SNAG Board of Directors, the Award recognizes and publicly acknowledges a volunteer’s contribution to SNAG.

2015 Educational Endowment Scholarships

SNAG recently awarded its annual Educational Endowment Scholarships to students and emerging/mid-career artists. Congratulations to each of the recipients!

2015 Volunteer Recognition Award

SNAG is pleased to announce that the first recipient of the newly established Volunteer Recognition Award is Harriete Estel Berman. Harriete has been an active volunteer for SNAG for well over 10 years, and a SNAG member and supporter for even longer.

2015 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Fred Fenster

Fred Fenster will be recognized for his accomplishments as a metalsmith artist, his influential role as teacher and educator, and his long association with SNAG as a Founding Member at this year’s SNAG conference in Boston.

Educational Endowment Scholarships 2014

SNAG recently announced the recipients of the 2014 Educational Endowment Scholarships. SNAG actively fundraises for the Educational Endowment trust and three scholarships are awarded annually to undergraduate and graduate students.

2014 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Robert Ebendorf

For the past twenty-five years, Robert Ebendorf has been re-purposing existing materials by devising ingenious uses for the discarded and discovering ways to make the used into the new. SNAG is honored to present him with the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award.

2013 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Gary Griffin

Gary Griffin received the 2013 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award. At the SNAG conference in May, Griffin accepted the beautiful Lifetime Achievement Award argentium silver vessel created by Cynthia Eid. The Lifetime Achievement Award is SNAG’s highest honor and is presented to individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of metalsmithing

Educational Endowment Scholarships 2013

SNAG is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2013 Educational Endowment Scholarships. Three scholarships are awarded each year. Students enrolled in jewelry and metals curriculum at universities, colleges, community colleges, and trade schools are all eligible for these scholarships.

2005 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Harry Bober

Harry had a long and very distinguished career. As a scholar he made many important and valued contributions to his field of study. He was certainly a friend of SNAG, understanding the mission of the studio artist/craftsman working in the media of metal. As an advocate of our field he is certainly deserving of the honor of being given the 2005 Lifetime Achievement Award of the Society of North American Goldsmiths.

Educational Endowment and Hoover & Strong Scholarships 2012

SNAG is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2012 Educational Endowment Scholarships and the Hoover & Strong Scholarship chosen by jurors Michael Gayk, Katie Macdonald, Brad Nichols, and Cary Stefani. From 62 applications this year representing trade school, undergraduate and graduate students, the jurors selected four recipients.

2012 Lifetime Achievement Award, J. Fred Woell

SNAG is proud to present the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award to J. Fred Woell.

Feedback from our Scholarship Recipients

My SNAG Educational Endowment Scholarship Experience By Bifei Cao, 2011 Recipient I came to the United States to pursue an MFA in Jewelry & Metals at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. After learning about the SNAG Educational Endowment Scholarship, I decided…

Educational Endowment Scholarship Recipients 2004-2011

2011 Recipients The 2011 Educational Endowment Scholarship recipients: Bifei Cao, graduate student at Indiana University of Pennsylvania M. Anne Kilborn, graduate student at Ball State University Emily Eversgerd, undergraduate student at East Tennessee State University The 2011 Hoover & Strong…

2011 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, L. Brent Kington

Author: Kris A. Patzlaff Society of North American Goldsmiths has awarded the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award to Brent Kington, and honored him at the SNAG conference in Seattle, WA. Kington is being recognized for more than 40 years of significant…

2010 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Lois Etherington Betteridge

Author: Anne Barros For a Canadian woman in the late 1940s to be attracted to silversmithing in the Design Department at the University of Kansas is not very remarkable. But for that same woman, Lois Etherington Betteridge, to have forged…

2009 SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, Stanley Lechtzin

Author: Matthew Hollern Stanley Lechtzin is the 2009 recipient of the SNAG Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor bestowed by the Society of North American Goldsmiths, presented at the 40th SNAG conference in Philadelphia. His peers have recognized him as…

Scroll to Top